Walking in Autumnal Days Away

above is a link to a .doc filed in my WordPress library; as far as I know, if you have MS Word, you can open this just fine; if not, please let me know; you see, I wrote the text and then tried to re-cast it, as it were, into a sidewalk shape using text-box blocks (not that clever, I know–and they wouldn’t transfer to WordPress); then I embellished the original text with a second conversation within about sidewalks; for just the original words, look below (no shape, though, and no second conversation)

Walking in Autumnal Days Away by C L Couch

And I simply like the fall is all
And walking down the walk
Past the library that is across
The street from the haunted house
Really, with tall and iron spikes
With arrow points along the tops
That make the rail, well, rail

[everything smushed into a sidewalk square, a new box opened, and so on]

And I simply like the fall is all
And walking down the walk
Past the brick place with a roof
That we could huddle under
Waiting for the bus to school
Or town—the fumes from passing
Trucks and cars also huddled with us

And I simply like the fall is all
And walking down the walk
Back then, I used to like the crunch the leaves
Even the chores to come that
Crunching would remind me
The dogs would need some care
And everything raked up and packed

And I simply like the fall is all
And walking down the walk
We’re told this winter will be milder
Which is fine with me, since I
Recall the season when the bridge
Fell down across the city river
But I’ll take a cold autumn, thanks

And I simply like the fall is all
And walking down the walk

The walk I have is broken through
With roots of tree, but so am I
Broken bricks and not-so-smooth
Concrete: am I not made of the
Same stuff, I think—but I do like
The fall and the unevenness of life
The walk, even upended, invites

And I simply like the fall and
Cold-autumnal days; the shorter
Nights are sad through there is
Good thought in the melancholy
And I like the walk and walking
It’s an easier exercise to do
Which is why, however wet or uneven

And I simply like the fall is all
And walking down the walk

And so let’s talk

