Means and Extremes

 

Today I feel sliced

Crossed factors no longer

Adding up

 

My friend, my counselor

Is gone

A singer is gone

A songbird wayward on its

Path

 

And fifty and fifty more

Are dead and wounded

In one place

 

Forty more in Bangladesh

Killed by the kind that

Above turned ill

 

Who took our celebrations?

 

Thirty years ago

My mother died today

No wonder, then, with

 

All that’s now divided

I cannot find my way

 

A time to dance

A time to mourn

A time to play

A time to play like children

A time to play music

Like children

Simply with easy

Spirit-suffusion

 

Solomon sings true

For us

When we lose our beloveds

 

A time to pray

A time to cry

A time to take what we have

With what we know

To open onto the good path

Another way

 

To take down barriers

To walk together

Lifting those who can’t

 

To multiply our source

And have it all, recourse

